Results of 2020 Convention

Results of 2020 Convention

On April 18, the 2020 Convention of NC-06 Republican Party was held virtually. Interim Chairman, Rick Smith, welcomed 78 delegates and their guests. NC Republican Party Chairman, Michael Whatley, served as the convention chair.

Conventioneers heard from Congressman Mark Walker, Lt. Governor Dan Forest, Justice Paul Newby and Treasurer, Dale Folwell, among other dignitaries, including Mark Lotter, Communications Director of the Trump Campaign. As usual in Presidential years, the convention elected it Presidential Elector and Alternate as well as its delegates and alternates to the August 24-27 RNC Convention in Charlotte, NC. Winners were:

RNC Delegates: Lee Haywood, Kathy Flanigan and Sen. Joyce Krawiec. Alternates: David Gleeson, Troy Lawson and Linda Petrou. Replacement alternates: Ed. Broyhill and Steve Golimowski.

Presidential Elector: Tina Forsberg. Alternate Elector: David Gleeson.

Because of the December redistricting and his future intentions, Rep Walker decided not to run again for this seat, so former District 6 Chairman, Lee Haywood, stepped away from party leadership to seek the congressional seat. Having won his March 3 primary, Mr. Haywood will represent Republicans on the Congressional ticket in November. Also due to the redistricting, several party offices had to be re-filled. While the offices of Secretary and Assistant Secretary remain open, the officer slate below will represent the district until the 2021 convention:

Chairwoman - Tina Forsberg

1st Vice Chairwoman - Linda Petrou, PhD

2nd Vice Chairman - W. Scott Harkey

3rd Vice Chairman - Marcus Kindley

Treasurer - Kurt Lawler

Assistant Treasurer - Steve Golimowski

Showing 1 reaction

  • Tina Forsberg
    published this page in News 2020-04-28 15:27:14 -0400